Eating Healthy on a Budget; Hannaford Makes it Happen

“Eating healthy is so expensive.” This is one of the statements I most often hear from mothers when it comes to feeding their families. The truth is, eating healthy is not expensive if you know how to create a meal plan each week (use my worksheet) and shop the right store. My goal of this post is to help you to understand that when you plan ahead and shop Hannaford you really can feed your family healthy meals.

My goal when shopping at Hannaford is to purchase as many Hannaford brand items as I can because they have become a brand I depend on. And often, even when I have a coupon for a name brand product, the Hannaford brand item is still less expensive.

Each week I use the Hannaford circular to create my meal plan. For instance, if I know that Hannaford boneless skinless chicken breasts are going to be on sale for what I refer to as the “stock up price” ($1.99/lb) then I am going to have to make room in the freezer. I usually buy 2 packages per trip and go home to divide them up and then freeze them. And there is so much that you can do with chicken breasts!

Chicken breasts are just one of many examples of a budget friendly option you can use to feed your family.

My daughter Abbey enjoying my homemade Chicken Pot Pie

Another helpful resource that Hannaford provides is their Guiding Stars® Program. Straight from the Hanaford website: “Guiding Stars® is an easy to use nutrition navigation system at Hannaford that helps you find foods with more nutrition by looking for special shelf tags while you shop.” I use the Guiding Stars® tags posted on products throughout the store to help me make healthier choices when selecting products. I also use the Guiding Stars® tags as a way to teach my daughter (she’s 2 years old) about how to determine which foods are good for her and which foods we can do without. You can learn more about the Guiding Stars® program on the Hannaford website.

During a week long period, I managed to feed my family six healthy dinners and made a healthy football watching dinner for my family and family friends. I picked out three of these meals as examples of how to feed your family healthy meals on a budget.

Chicken Pot Pie – serves 4
Hannaford Healthy Request Cream Of Chicken Soup – 1 can, $1.39 each
Hannaford Mixed Frozen Vegetables – 16 oz., $1.00 each
Yellow Potatoes, cubed- 1/2 lb., $1.49/pound
Hannaford Reduced Fat Crescent Rolls – 2 tubes, $2.39 each
Boneless Skinless Chicken Breasts, cubed – 2 breasts, $1.99/lb
Hannaford Extra Virgin Olive Oil – 2 tablespoons, $4.99/17oz. bottle

Click here to view the whole recipe.
Total cost for meal: $10.25 or $2.56 per serving

Buffalo Chicken Burgers with Blue Cheese Sauce – makes 4 quarter pound burgers (I also like to turn these into sliders for when we have company)
Perdue Ground Chicken – 16 oz., $2.99/lb
Hannaford Hot Sauce – 1/4 cup, $1.59/12 oz.
Celery – 1 rib, finely chopped, $1.79/bunch
Green Onions – 4, finely chopped, $0.89/bunch
McCormick Grill Seasoning – 1 palmful, $1.99/3.4 oz. bottle
Extra Virgin Olive Oil – 2 tbs, $4.99/17oz. bottle
Hannaford Crumbled Blue Cheese – 2 oz., $3.99/6 oz.
Hannaford Light Sour Cream – 1/2 cup, $1.39/16 oz.
Alexia Spicy Sweet Potato Fries – 20 oz., $3.49
Hannaford frozen Green Beans – 16 oz., $1
Hannaford Whole Grain Hamburger Buns – 4, $2.99/8

Click here for the whole recipe.

Total cost for meal: $12.60 or $3.15 per serving

Slow Cooker Sloppy Joe’s – makes 4 servings
Hannaford 96% Lean Ground Beef – 1 lb., $4.99/1.4 lbs
Sweet onion, chopped – 1, $1.99/2lb
Red bell pepper, cored, seeded and chopped – 1, $3.49/lb
Garlic cloves, minced – 2, $0.49/1 bulb
Hannaford Ketchup – 1/2 cup, $2.99/64 oz. – $0.18
Kraft Honey barbecue sauce – 3/4 cup,  $1.47/18 oz
Hannaford cider vinegar – 2 tbsp, $0.88/16 oz.
Hannaford Worcestershire sauce – 2 tbsp, $1.89/10 oz
Hannaford packed dark brown sugar – 1 tbsp, $1.33/16 oz
Hannaford baked beans – 8oz, $1.69/28 oz
Hannaford Whole Grain Hamburger Buns – 4, $2.99/8 (you should still have 4 left over from the buffalo chicken burgers)

Total cost for meal: $9.84 or $2.46 per serving

I hope that these three recipes give you an idea of the kinds of healthy meals you can create for your family and still stay on your budget. I’m always posting new budget-friendly, healthy recipes so if you’re ever stuck, check out my recipes and try something new.

If you have any other suggestions on how you save money while keeping it healthy and shopping at Hannaford, please leave me a comment or send me an email because I am always happy to add tips to my arsenal.

I was asked by Hannaford to participate in this project and was compensated for my time, however, the thoughts and opinions written here are my own.
About jennandrews0824

Saving you money and time by reviewing products for you. I'll let you know which products you should use and which products just aren't worth your money or time. I'll also provide reviews of deals at major stores around the country online as well as a review of deals I find while I'm out shopping.
This entry was posted in Hannaford and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Eating Healthy on a Budget; Hannaford Makes it Happen

  1. boyonabudget says:

    Love your blog!! I put 1/2 a whole chicken in the crock pot this morning. Came home and picked the chicken off the bone, Strained the broth into a big pot to get rid of all the skin and bones that cooked away. Placed 1 1/2 cups of broth in bowl to save for later in the week. Added a can of cream of chicken soup to the pot with remaining broth and brought to boil. Added half the picked chicken and 1 can of biscuits – cooked for 10 minutes – chicken and dumplings – YUM.

    After dinner, added 1 bag of frozen corn and 1 bag of frozen peas and carrots to the leftovers in pot. Will pour in baking dish tomorrow and and bake with a can of biscuits on top – chicken pot pie – YUM again. later in the week I will make either chicken tacos or chicken soup with the other half of picked chiken. Yum for a 3rd time.

    Kathleen

Leave a Reply

